PNR Status – 6 things you should know.

PNR Status – 6 things you should know.


The PNR number, which is printed at the top center of an online ticket or the top left of an offline ticket, is generated by the IRCTC whenever a passenger books a train ticket for travel throughout India.

The PNR confirms that the passenger’s ticket has been reserved, enabling them to proceed to their destination point with a valid ticket in hand. Every passenger is identified by their PNR number as soon as they board the train, which marks the beginning of their journey. The number contains all the information about your trip, including whether your ticket is confirmed, on the waiting list, or reserved class seating (RCL).

A PNR Number: What Is It?

Passenger Name Record (PNR), a unique 10-digit number printed on each ticket issued by Indian Railways, is known by the abbreviation PNR. Have you ever wondered what these ten digits indicate and what travel information they hide about the passengers? This blog will help you learn the detailed PNR details created by Indian railways for any train trip if you have no concept of a PNR number.

These six PNR Status-related information are important to be aware of.

  1. The Passenger Reservation System is shown by PNR (PRS) – If we dissect these numbers, the PRS—the source station from which the ticket was purchased—is revealed by the first three digits of each PNR.

The example will be demonstrated using the sample below.

Mumbai PRS 8,9 CR, WCR. For example, if a flight is purchased from Mumbai, the PNR will begin with 8.

  • Numbers at random in the PNR – The CRIS randomly generates the PNR’s seven digits (Centre for Railway Information System). They don’t have any accurate or detailed ticket information. These digits are printed on the ticket solely to distinguish it from other tickets and make it unique.
  • Validity and Record – The PNR’s validity ends as soon as the trip is over. Once the train arrives at the final station, the PNR is useless and cannot be used for another trip. The Indian Railways PNR Number is kept on file for at least nine months before being automatically flushed by the system.
  • Details in the PNR – The PNR is the only way to identify a railway passenger. With the help of this special 10-digit code, which consists of:
  • Passenger information ( Name, Age, Sex, Date of Birth)
  • Ticket information (Date of Journey, Source Station, Destination Station, Berth Number,
  • Quota, ID Proof Numbers, Class of the Booked Ticket, etc.)
  • Transaction information
  • Code Kinds That Can Be Displayed When Checking PNR Status – Whenever a ticket is generated, or a PNR status is checked, many code types may be visible on the screen. As follows:
  • CNF- Confirmed: This only appears if you have a reserved seat.
  • Reservation Against Cancellation (RAC): This code shows when Indian Railways arranges for two people to travel together in the same seat. Every compartment has a lower side bunk where two travelers can share a seat for the duration of their voyage. After a few stations, berths are assigned to both RAC passengers on a long-distance trip based on the availability of seats.
  • WL – When a passenger’s requested seat is not available. They are placed on the waiting list (WL). For instance, WL1, WL 2, or WL7/WL2 designates that the waiting status was WL7 at the time of booking but changed to WL2 at the time of payment. It adds that only when other passengers cancel their tickets will your ticket be confirmed.
  • General Waiting List (GNWL): This list displays when there is a possibility that a ticket will be confirmed.
  • PQWL – When a ticket is purchased from the train’s starting station to any intermediate stop or from any intermediary station to the concluding station, a PQWL, or pooled quota waiting list, is generated.
  • RLWL – When a ticket is on the waiting list and reserved for two significant intermediate stations, the phrase “RLWL” (Remote Location Waiting List) appears.
  • TQWL—Tatkal Quota Waiting List—indicates the current standing of Tatkal ticket reservations. Without visiting the RAC, this ticket is guaranteed. However, when creating charts, GNWL is given more consideration than TQWL.
  • NOSB – When a ticket is purchased for a child passenger under the age of 11, the designation NOSB (NO Seat Berth) appears. This denotes that the trip is permitted, but no specific seat will be provided.


However, these points can be contested because if you book your online train tickets through www.quick, you do not need to worry about any of these facts. You can simply rely on their portal for all train booking-related queries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solverwp- WordPress Theme and Plugin